24th Historic Preservation Merit Awards-2014

2014 RCEHPMA Award Winners

May is National Preservation Month!
Please join us as we congratulate The Rockland County Executive's Historic Preservation Merit Award Recipients for 2014:

  • J. Herbert Dahm: Margaret B. and John R. Zehner Award for contributions to the county's history and for underscoring the value of historic preservation to the community.

  • Kathy and Harold Jones, stewards of the DeWint House: Preservation Leadership Award for individuals, groups, and government agencies that display outstanding leadership or continuing contribution to the preservation of historic resources in Rockland County

  • Heritage of West Nyack: Preservation/Restoration Award for their preservation of Pye’s Corners (a.k.a. Richard’s Corners) in West Nyack

  • Suzanne Barclay & Walter Aurell: Preservation/Restoration Award for their restoration of the Aurell/Barclay House (a.k.a. Mabie House) in Orangeburg

  • Walter Cain and Paulo Ribeiro: Rescue Award for saving the Heitman House, Piermont, from demolition

  • Nick Loucas: Continuing Use Award for Lucas Candies in Haverstraw
with Special Commendations going to
  • Joel Epstein, Code Enforcement Officer, Town of Clarkstown

  • Sisters of St. Dominic, Sparkill, upon the 100th anniversary of the Sacred Heart Chapel

All of the awards made by the Society in 2014 underline the positive effects of preservation on the community.  For example, in one instance, the excellent restoration of a house threatened by demolition maintained the integrity of a Piermont Historic District. In another, a Haverstraw family business operating out of the same 19th century building since its inception, contributes positively to the village’s rich history, and in another, a municipal restoration of a public space anchors a well-traveled Clarkstown Crossroad, inspiring passers-by. 

Please join us in congratulating the award recipients. For information on attending the awards ceremony and country supper, which will be held on the grounds of the Jacob Blauvelt house on May 18, 2014, click here.

History of the Rockland County Executive's Historic Preservation Merit Awards Program

Since 1991, the Historical Society of Rockland County has presented over 65 awards to public agencies, private individuals, community-based and religious organizations in recognition of their preservation efforts in the County. The Committee also supports continued, critical action to help save Rockland County's environmentally sensitive areas and endangered architecture. Instituted to preserve the rich historical heritage of the County, the annual program celebrates each May with a declaration of "Rockland County Preservation Week" by the County Executive, a festive country supper and awards ceremony.

With a rapidly growing population of newcomers to the area, one challenge has been to help the public understand the value of preservation as well as being involved in their community. Addressing this challenge, the HSRC’s Preservation Awards program has:
  • awarded preservation efforts of individuals and groups

  • increased awareness of our historic resources

  • helped local communities to recapture history and pride of place

  • advocated for the purchase of endangered sites for the public good

  • attempted to unite all five townships in the support of historic preservation

  • The awards, made by the Society for preservation efforts on homes, businesses, municipal locations, and structures both modest and grand, help to get out the word that it is in everyone's interest to restore and retain the richness of the past. The process is self-fulfilling, and it helps to unify and inspire a community.

For more information on the award process, or to find out how to attend the Country Supper contact the Historical Society of Rockland County at 845-634-9629 or [email protected].
2014 - 24th Preservation Awards Journal PDF


Add a Comment:

Please signup or login to add a comment.