28th Historic Preservation Award Winners-2018

2018 RCEHPMA Winners
May is National Preservation Month!

Please join us as we congratulate The Rockland County Executive's Historic Preservation Merit Award Recipients for 2018:
  • Edward J. Lenik: Margaret B. and John R. Zehner Award for contributions to the county's history and for underscoring the value of historic preservation to the community.

  • Marie Monteagudo: Preservation Leadership Award for individuals, groups, and government agencies that display outstanding leadership or continuing contribution to the preservation of historic resources in Rockland County.
  • Linie & Joe Rand (owners), Jan Degenshein (architect): Preservation/Restoration Award for the D. D. Smith House, Nyack

  • Keizo & Hiroko Tsukada (owners): Preservation/Restoration Award for 639 Oak Tree Road, Palisades

  • Cifuni Family (owners): Rehabilitation Award for the Demarest House, West Nyack
  • Paula Oland & William Arthur Young (owners): Rehabilitation Award for 61 Main Street, Tappan
with Special Commendations going to
  • Joe Allen (filmmaker) and Wylene Wood (producer) of Two Schools in Hillburn 
  • Ryan Slattery (Eagle Scout) for rehabilitation of Bogert Cemetery, Pearl River

Please join us in congratulating the award recipients. For information on attending the awards ceremony and country supper, which will be held on the grounds of the Jacob Blauvelt house on Sunday, May 20, 2018, contact us at (845) 634-9629 or [email protected].

History of the Rockland County Executive's Historic Preservation Merit Awards Program

Since 1991, the Historical Society of Rockland County has presented over 75 awards to public agencies, private individuals, community-based and religious organizations in recognition of their preservation efforts in the County. The Committee also supports continued, critical action to help save Rockland County's environmentally sensitive areas and endangered architecture. Instituted to preserve the rich historical heritage of the County, the annual program celebrates each May with a declaration of "Rockland County Preservation Week" by the County Executive, a festive country supper and awards ceremony.
With a rapidly growing population of newcomers to the area, one challenge has been to help the public understand the value of preservation as well as being involved in their community. Addressing this challenge, the HSRC’s Preservation Awards program has:
  • Awarded preservation efforts of individuals and groups

  • Increased awareness of our historic resources

  • Helped local communities to recapture history and pride of place

  • Advocated for the purchase of endangered sites for the public good

  • Attempted to unite all five townships in the support of historic preservation

All of the awards made by the Society in 20178 underline the positive effects of preservation on the community. For example, in one instance, the excellent adaptive reuse of a historic house will significantly enhance a new, contemporary development in Pearl River. In another, a grassroots volunteer group converted an unused schoolhouse into a vibrant community center, making a positive contribution to a village’s rich history. 

The awards, made by the Committee for preservation efforts on homes, businesses and structures both modest and grand, help to get out the word that it is in everyone's interest to restore and retain the richness of the past. The process is self-fulfilling, and it helps to unify and inspire a community.

Since 2015, the ceremony has also included the “Shine a Light on Historic Sites” feature. The committee has included this effort to draw attention to “at risk” places in our county that need preservation attention, support and advocacy from the community.

For more information on the award process or to find out how to attend the Rockland County Executive's Historic Preservation Merit Awards Country Supper, contact the Historical Society of Rockland County at (845) 634-9629 or
[email protected].


Add a Comment:

Please signup or login to add a comment.